Election 2016: School Committee Race (4-Year Term)

PORTSMOUTH, R.I. —  Three Portsmouth candidates are running for a seat on the Portsmouth School Committee this election year. Each term will last 4 years.

The 3 candidates below are listed alphabetical by last name. Names are published as they appear on the R.I. Secretary of State website. The detailed information about each candidate is published verbatim from their political party’s website.

Portsmouth School Committee (4-year term; vote for any 3) 

Emily A. Copeland

Emily A. Copeland (Democrat, current School Committee vice chairperson)

Emily Copeland is on the faculties of Bryant University and Norwich University.  She is married to Rick Norton, and their children, Nick and Chris, are Portsmouth High School graduates.

  • Vice Chair, Portsmouth School Committee (incumbent)

  • Chair, Finance and Strategic Planning subcommittees

  • MALD, PhD, Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University

  • Fulbright Scholar

  • Past:

    • Co-President, Portsmouth Middle School PTO

    • President, Melville Parent Teacher Group

Terri-Denise Cortvriend

Terri-Denise Cortvriend (Democrat, current School Committee chairperson)

Terri Cortvriend has been a Portsmouth Resident since 1995. She is the owner of Ocean Link, Inc.  Terri’s daughter, Savanna, is a Portsmouth High School graduate.

  • Local Business Owner, Ocean Link, Inc.

  • Commissioner, Portsmouth Water & Fire District

  • Chair, Portsmouth Tank Farm Advisory Committee

  • Former Member:

    • Portsmouth Economic Development Committee

    • Redevelopment Agency

    • Charter Review Committee

Andrew V. Kelly

Andrew V. Kelly (Democrat, current School Committee member)

Andrew Kelly is a Dietary Aide at Grand Islander and a Master’s Degree Candidate at Bridgewater State University. His parents are Paul and Bev Kelly and his siblings are Brad and Veronica, both Portsmouth High School graduates.

  • Portsmouth School Committee (incumbent)

  • Former member, Portsmouth Charter Review, Elmhurst Re-use and Economic Development Committeees

  • BA, Administration of Justice, Salve Regina University

  • Eagle Scout and Assistant Scoutmaster


Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
Notify of