DOT announces boat restrictions for bridge demolition

The Rhode Island Department of Transportation (RIDOT) began the process of removing the old Sakonnet River Bridge on Wednesday, March 1, 2017.The old Sakonnet River Bridge is seen here from the new bike path.
Facebook
Pinterest
LINKEDIN

PORTSMOUTH, R.I. — The Rhode Island Department of Transportation (DOT) will restrict travel through the Sakonnet River channel for approximately one month, starting Monday, Oct. 23,  for bridge demolition. 

The restrictions are needed to allow for the safe removal of the old Sakonnet River Bridge.

While bridge demolition activities are underway from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, vessels will be unable to enter or pass through the channel. The restrictions are scheduled to last through Monday, Nov. 27.

RIDOT will reopen the channel to marine traffic each day at 6 p.m.

Additionally, the channel will be open all day on Sundays and for two full weekends in early November to better accommodate marine traffic. Seasonal boaters needing to transit the channel to haul their boats for the winter should plan accordingly.

The full schedule is as follows:

Channel Closed:

October 23 through November 27: Monday through Saturday, 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. each day.

Channel Open:

Every Sunday

Channel Also Open:

• Friday, October 27 from 3:30 p.m. to Saturday, October 28 at 6 a.m.
• Friday, November 3 at 3:30 p.m. through Monday, November 6 at 6 a.m.
• Friday, November 10 at 3:30 p.m. though Monday, November 13 at 6 a.m.

During this first phase of demolition, RIDOT is removing approximately 6.2 million pounds of steel and 2,700 cubic yards of concrete across 17 spans between the bridge’s piers. The project is on time and on budget, with final completion scheduled for Summer 2018.

Facebook
Pinterest
LINKEDIN

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
wpDiscuz